Feature ownership

Last updated:

Each feature at PostHog has an Engineering owner. This owner is responsible for maintaining the feature (keep the lights on) and championing any efforts to improve it (e.g. by bringing up improvements in sprint planning).

When a bug or feature request comes in, we tag it with the relevant label (see labels below). The owner is responsible for then prioritizing any bug/request that comes in for each feature. This does not mean working on every bug/request, an owner can make the deliberate decision that working on something is not the best thing to work on, but every request should be looked at.

💡 The Team Platform works a bit differently. Each subteam owns certain parts of PostHog. Among other things, this helps reduce any lead time when critical fixes are needed. Please review the Team Platform page for further details.

Feature list

You can also view the list directly in GitHub and filter issues there.

FeatureOwnerLabel
Actions@pauldambrafeature/actions
Actors Modal@EDsCODEfeature/actors-modal
Annotations@pauldambrafeature/annotations
API Structure@Twixesfeature/api-structure
Application Performance Monitoring (APM)@pauldambrafeature/apm
Async migrationsIngestion (Team Platform)feature/async-migrations
Billing@timglfeature/billing
Cohorts@EDsCODEfeature/cohorts
Correlation Analysis@neilkakkarfeature/correlation-analysis
Dashboards@Twixesfeature/dashboards
Data Management@alexkim205feature/data-management
Events@alexkim205feature/events
Experimentation@neilkakkarfeature/experimentation
Feature Flags@neilkakkarfeature/feature-flags
Funnels@neilkakkarfeature/funnels
Group Analytics@macobofeature/group-analytics
Onboarding@liyiyfeature/onboarding
Lifecycle@EDsCODEfeature/lifecycle
Paths@neilkakkarfeature/paths
Permissions@Twixesfeature/permissions
Persons@alexkim205feature/persons
Project Home Page@rcmarronfeature/home
Property Filters@mariusandrafeature/filters
Recordings@rcmarronfeature/recordings
Retention@EDsCODEfeature/retention
Saved Insights@Twixesfeature/saved-insights
Session Analytics@rcmarronfeature/sessions
Settings (personal & project)@liyiyfeature/settings
SSO@mariusandrafeature/sso
Stickiness@EDsCODEfeature/stickiness
Toolbar@pauldambrafeature/toolbar
Trends@EDsCODEfeature/trends

Why did we establish feature owners?

At our Engineering Offsite in February 2022 we realized the issue that some bugs and maintenance tasks may have been falling through the cracks because there were no clear owners.

Questions?